The National Association for Civilian Oversight of Law Enforcement (NACOLE) is a non-profit organization that brings together individuals or agencies working to establish or improve oversight of police officers in the United States.
You are here: Home » Special Programs » Awards


Attached Documents:


Deadline:  Nomination forms must be submitted via e-mail to by Monday, June 2, 2014.


NACOLE recognizes contributions to and accomplishments in the field of civilian oversight with two categories of awards:


Nominations can be made by any NACOLE member, including employees of agencies holding organizational memberships, and will be evaluated by an awards sub-committee of the NACOLE Professional Standards Committee.


The nomination form (which must be submitted electronically) will allow statements from one to three individuals supporting the nomination and can include relevant supporting documents.


The National Association for Civilian Oversight of Law Enforcement has recognized the following individuals for their contributions to the field of civilian oversight with a NACOLE award.  The year and location of the annual conference in which they were recognized are also noted.


Past Flame Award Recipients

Philip K. Eure, 2013

Michael Gennaco, 2012

Richard Rosenthal, 2011

Al LaCabe, 2010                     

Carol Scott, 2010                   

Donald Casimere, 2008         

Robin Lolar, 2007

Nuala O’Loan, 2007

Rose Ceja-Aragon, 2005

Sue Quinn, 2005                     

Janet Reno, 2005                   

Samuel Walker, 2005            

Bob Aaronson, 2004

Teresa Guerrero-Daley, 2004

Denise Deforest, 2004

Merrick Bobb, 2003               

Joe Sandoval, 2003                

Dede Wilhelm, 2003

NACOLE Founders, 2002 (Donald Casimere, Clyde B. Davis, Felicia Davis, James L. Johnson, Robin Lolar, Malvina Monteiro, Brian C. Reeder, and Larna Spearman)

John Crew, 2001

Past Achievement in Oversight/Contribution to Oversight Award Recipients

Center For Justice, 2013

Sally Kestin, 2013

John Maines, 2013

John Dahlburg, 2013              

André Marin, 2012                

A.C. Thompson, 2012

Tom Jennings, 2012            

Laura Maggi, 2012                

Brendan McCarthy, 2012

Mark Leno, 2007                    

Gloria Romero, 2007             

Anthony D. Romero, 2007

Mark Schlosberg, 2007